part 2 of an adventure by wheel chair

   A few thoughts on the internet: I most assuredly can not be described as being a hacker, unless it is with an axe in frustration with my computer. I am informed quite firmly that the said axe is not the tool required to make my internet connection function as I think it should. They, the mysterious and unnamed techies thoughtfully steered me towards a book called, if I remember right, ‘computers for dummies.’

   Now I am certain that it was and would be and in most cases can be of great help to confused users. To me it was a jumble of words I could not read as it seemed to speak in a language I could not understand. Even when in desperation I had a willing troll read out huge sections, the ability to make sense of the spoken word was absent. Now don’t get me wrong I know how to make the words appear on the screen. I even know how (now) to get them to disappear into the either as well. Still I am always left with a feeling that lingers, a question unanswered, mostly it is. ‘did I send that and did it go?’

  Still, (thanks to computers) I have discovered what the young of this world are for, especially daughters, who seem to me to make the computer stand up and beg. Though it is annoying to have to admit that they (the young up and coming) know far more than I… I still keep on trying to learn in the hope that one day I will be able to come second to last in the techie scheme of things, but they will insist on moving forward, changing the methods and moving the goal posts.

   Still as always I have to admit that without their help input etc, I would not have got as far as I have and you can read my books and stories, and this blog and take them as evidence that you can teach an old dog new tricks! Perhaps even a new and different language as well. Though… As for text speak, lets not go there…

                                   May your God (s) go with you.

                                                    David Stevens

Leave a Reply

